Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board Recruiting Community Board Members Notice



Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board 

With the upcoming changes to the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 (CSPA), we are inviting applications from community members to join the newly formed Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board. 

If you live in one of the above member communities and would like to support community wellbeing, we invite you to apply to join the Board. 

Board Composition

The Board will include 4 elected officials from the 12 municipalities within the Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board, as well as 2 community members and 1 provincial appointee.  There will be 7 total appointed Board Members, and 1 secretary. 


Township of Armour

Village of Burk’s Falls

Township of Ryerson

Municipality of Magnetawan

Town of Kearney

Township of Joly

Township of Machar

Village of South River

Township of Strong

Township of Perry

Village of Sundridge

Township of McMurrich/Monteith


To apply to become a Community Board Member, you must be an eligible elector in one of the above member municipalities. 

Additionally, you must obtain a current (12 months or newer) and acceptable Criminal Record Check, at your expense, prior to the appointment to the Board and successfully complete various online training courses within 6 months from appointment. 

You are not eligible if you are: 

A judge or justice of the peace;

A member of the police service, special constable, or a First Nation Officer;

Someone practicing criminal law (either defense or prosecution);

A director, officer, or employee of any policing provider;

A former member of a police service unless:

The OPP Detachment Board does not maintain a police service that the person was a member of; and

At least one year has passed since the person ceased to be a member of any police service.

Experience in local government and/or previously serving on boards and committees is considered an asset. This opportunity offers a chance to actively participate in shaping local law enforcement and safety initiatives.


Application Deadline

The Township of Perry is managing the intake of all applications. 

Please submit your board application form, along with your cover letter and resume, by 4 p.m. on Friday April 5, 2024 to

Township of Perry

c/o Erica Cole, Deputy Clerk

1695 Emsdale Road, PO BOX 70, Emsdale, ON P0A 1J0


F: 705-636-5759 


Alternatively, you may hand-deliver your application to your local municipal office by the deadline and it will be forwarded to Perry Township. 

Following completion of the interview and selection process by the Board, the 2 Community Board Members will be appointed by all the above municipalities to the Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board. 

Board Meetings, Term of Office, and Remuneration

Following the establishment of the Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board, the Board elects the Chair and Vice-Chair, and sets the meeting schedule (minimum four per year), meeting location, and any applicable remuneration. 

The Term of Office for Board Members shall not exceed the current term of municipal council (November 14, 2026).

Provincial Appointee

The Minister of the Solicitor General oversees the appointment of 1 Provincial Representative for the Almaguin Highlands OPP Detachment Board.

Code of Conduct

Ontario Regulation 409/23 sets out the Code of Conduct for OPP Detachment Board Members under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019

Every member must comply with the Code of Conduct.

Application Form and Documents

OPP Detachment Board Member Application Form (link application form)

Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 

O.Reg 409/23: OPP Detachment Board Code of Conduct